Pre Wembley

August 7, 2006

Which ground hosted the F.A. Cup Final for the three years prior to Wembley hosting it’s first?

Read the rest of this entry »


West Ham’s Home

August 3, 2006

What is the official name of West Ham’s ground?

Read the rest of this entry »

A Tough Goalkeeper

July 28, 2006

Who played the last 15 minutes of an F.A. Cup at Wembley with a broken neck?

Read the rest of this entry »

F.A. Cup Englishman

July 21, 2006

Who was the only English-born player in Liverpool’s F.A. Cup winning team in 1986?

Read the rest of this entry »

Debut Hat-trick

July 17, 2006

Who scored a hat -trick on his first full appearance for England?

Read the rest of this entry »

Defeats at Wembley

July 14, 2006

Who were the first and last teams to defeat England at Wembley?

Read the rest of this entry »

European Cup

July 12, 2006

Which was the first club to win the European Cup without scoring a goal during match play in the Final?

Read the rest of this entry »

Big Teams and the FA Cup

May 5, 2006

Contributor: Dermot

Man United, Arsenal, Liverpool, and Chelsea (and, to an extent, Spurs thanks to past successes) seem to be the teams to stick your money on when it comes to the FA Cup these days. Let’s have a look at how the winners of the cup has been drawn from an ever narrowing group over the past 10 years by looking at the diversity of winners from earlier decades.

1970: Chelsea
1971: Arsenal
1972: Leeds United
1973: Sunderland
1974: Liverpool
1975: West Ham United
1976: Southampton
1977: Manchester United
1978: Ipswich Town
1979: Arsenal

Arsenal: 2 Liverpool: 1 Man United: 1 Chelsea: 1
Others: 5

1980: West Ham United
1981: Tottenham Hostpur
1982: Tottenham Hotspur
1983: Manchester United
1984: Everton
1985: Manchester United
1986: Liverpool
1987: Coventry City
1988: Wimbledon
1989: Liverpool

Manchester United: 2 Liverpool: 2 Spurs: 2
Others: 4

1990: Manchester United
1991: Tottenham Hotspur
1992: Liverpool
1993: Arsenal
1994: Manchester United
1995: Everton
1996: Manchester United
1997: Chelsea
1998: Arsenal
1999: Manchester United

Manchester United: 4 Arsenal: 2 Liverpool: 1
Chelsea: 1 Others: 2

2000: Chelsea
2001: Liverpool
2002: Arsenal
2003: Arsenal
2004: Man United
2005: Arsenal

Arsenal: 3 Liverpool: 1 Chelsea: 1 Man United: 1

So from the last 36 editions of the FA Cup, Manchester United lead the way with eight successes, followed by Arsenal on seven, Liverpool on five and Chelsea and Tottenham Hotspur on three each. That accounts for 26 of the last 36 finals.

And when one looks at the record since 1990, there have been only six different winners and since 1996, Arsenal, Man United, Liverpool and Chelski have shared the cup between them.

Will Liverpool keep the run going on May 13th or will West Ham inject a bit of romance into a competition which, if recent history is anything to go by, isn’t really that romantic, at least when it comes to its winners?

£7 Million and hasn’t played for England?

May 4, 2006

Andrew Hartshorn asks: How many English footballers cost 7 million pounds or more and haven’t played for England?

Read the rest of this entry »

Who’s leg did Gary Neville break?

May 4, 2006

Martin Kirk asks: Gary Neville broke a Liverpool players leg during a game between Liverpool and Man. Utd. Who was the player and what year?

This is another one that has me stumped. Does anyone know the answer to this one? I get the feeling this is a sneaky one.