All British Premiership Team

May 4, 2006

Fraze Hyett asks What was the last prem side to field an all british team if any have?

I don’t have clue, can anyone help?


World Cup Warmup

May 4, 2006

Contributor: Dermot

A little World Cup history.

Year Hosts Winner Runner Up
1930 Uruguay Uruguay Argentina
1934 Italy Italy Czechoslovakia
1938 France Italy Hungary
1950 Brazil Uruguay Brazil
1954 Switzerland WestGermany Hungary
1958 Sweden Brazil Sweden
1962 Chile Brazil Czechoslovakia
1966 England England WestGermany
1970 Mexico Brazil Italy
1974 WestGermany WestGermany Holland
1978 Argentina Argentina Holland
1982 Spain Italy WestGermany
1986 Mexico Argentina WestGermany
1990 Italy WestGermany Argentina
1994 UnitedStates Brazil Italy
1998 France France Brazil
2002 Japan and Korea Brazil Germany

Brazil is the only country to win the World Cup outside its own continental territory, which it achieved on three occasions, in 1958 in Sweden, the United States in 1994 and four years ago in Japan/Korea. North America and South America are now viewed as two separate continents under modern education systems, but historians view North and South American simply as the continent of America. There was no official World Cup final in 1950, given that the championship was decided by a pool system. It was by coincidence that the final game in the pool was played between the only two teams who could have won the World Cup that year. The 1994 World Cup was decided by a penalty shoot out for the first and only time in the history of the tournament, but FIFA history dictates that the final itself was drawn and that the World Cup trophy was decided by penalty kicks. Holland, Czechoslovakia and Hungary share the distinction of being two-times runners up respectively.

He Won How Many Trophies?

April 3, 2006

Graham Baldridge asks “Which player has won the Premier League, F.A. Cup, Champions League and the U.E.F.A. Cup?”

Read the rest of this entry »

Sendings Off

April 3, 2006

David Yetman asks What is the most players sent off in 1 match?

Read the rest of this entry »

Played for Chelsea and Celtic

April 3, 2006

Doug asks: ‘Name 9 players who have played for both Celtic and Chelsea since the 2nd world war?’

Read the rest of this entry »

Father and Son

April 3, 2006

Gavin Veevers asks Can you tell me which player replaced his father in an international match?

Read the rest of this entry »


March 11, 2006

Jamie Hughes asks: ‘Which striker played upfront for Manchester United and in goal for Newcastle United in the same season?’

Well Jamie you have me stumped, I can’t think of the player (or even find reference to him). I did discover a former Manchester United, Liverpool, Everton, and Newcastle striker has also played in goal for Newcastle. Peter Beardsley played in goal during Newcastle’s defeat to West Ham in 1986. When Martin Thomas went off injured, Beardsley went between the posts until he got injured himself, another outfield player was required to go in goal and that honour fell to defender Chris Hedworth. Unluckily for Newcastle, West Ham won 8-1, with Alvin Martin scoring a hat-trick.

Premiership’s Oldest Player

January 13, 2006

Janice Goodwin asks, “Who was the oldest player ever to play in the English Premiership?”

The oldest player to play in the Premiership was John Burridge. He was playing for Manchester City, and was 43 years, 4 months and 26 days old when he played against Newcastle United on April 29th, 1995. Burridge started his professional career in 1968 and retired in 1996. He has played for 20 clubs (including Aston Villa, Crystal Palace, Sheffield United, Southampton, Newcastle United, and Manchester City).

The oldest outfield player to play in the Premiership was Gordon Strachan, when he was 40 years old (I haven’t managed to find out what was the last game he played in). Teddy Sheringham will be 40 in April this year, so he stands a good chance of breaking this record.

Penalties #1

December 15, 2005

Contributor: Dermot

In 1971-72, Manchester City were awarded an astonishing 15 penalties in one season – all of which were scored by Francis Lee.

Manchester United’s Most Decorated Player

December 14, 2005

Contributor: Dermot

Ryan Giggs is the most decorated player in the history of Manchester United. Here’s the list of his 18 triumphs.

  • 1991
    • European Super Cup
  • 1992
    • League Cup
    • FA Youth Cup
  • 1993
    • Premier League
    • PFA Young Player of the Year
  • 1994
    • Premier League
    • FA Cup
    • PFA Young Player of the Year
  • 1996
    • Premier League
    • FA Cup
  • 1997
    • Premier League
  • 1999
    • Premier League
    • FA Cup
    • European Cup
  • 2000
    • Premier League
  • 2001
    • Premier League
  • 2003
    • Premier League
  • 2004
    • FA Cup

Ryan Giggs has scored more goals in the Premiership than any other ‘non-striker,’ though he considered himself more of a natural striker than a winger in his younger days. In 1993/94’s Double season, Giggs scored 17 goals, his best individual contribution in a single season.

He has played in three League Cup finals (1992, 1994, 2003) and six FA Cup finals (1994, 1995, 1996, 1999, 2004 and 2005.)

He is only the third player in Manchester United’s history to make over 600 appearances, after Bobby Charlton (759) and Bill Foulkes (688).

In total, he has scored 132 goals for the club. He reached the mark in September 2004 at Anfield.